What's the deal with Bodo'g auto rebuy?

adventurebound

adventurebound

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Total posts
4,911
Just played my first $500 freeroll in a long time. Picked up a nice hand but got sucked out on the river...ya it happens. Then for the 5 time the software auto rebought for me without my input. Called bodog on the phone and they said "Too bad... not our problem our software took your money and rebought. Thanks for the money...Please deposit again real soon! See ya!"

Yep, in other words they told me I was screwed and they wouldn't remidy their software's mistakes. They did say they'd send a note to tech support but I'll still be out. It's not much money, it's the point of honesty that has me upset.:mad:

As long as I have a cash account there I'm staying away from the freerolls unless it's the CC game. (if it happens there at least the money might go to a freind)

Thanks Calvin!
 
pantin007

pantin007

member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Total posts
6,208
"Too bad... not our problem our software took your money and rebought. Thanks for the money...Please deposit again real soon! See ya!"
i dont think they would have said it like that
but dont u have to click in a specific box to auto rebuy?
hope it doesnt happen again
 
lkport

lkport

Rock Star
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Total posts
167
yeah, top button on lower right, very small, easy to click on accidentally
 
S

switch0723

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Sep 2, 2007
Total posts
8,430
i dont play at bodog but from your op all i can understand is that you can rebuy in a freeroll pay paying real money? is that right since that defeats the point of a freeroll and why would nayone pay to rebuy ina freeroll
 
Emperor IX

Emperor IX

Cardschat Elite
Joined
May 28, 2007
Total posts
2,974
i dont play at bodog but from your op all i can understand is that you can rebuy in a freeroll pay paying real money? is that right since that defeats the point of a freeroll and why would nayone pay to rebuy ina freeroll

It's free to enter initially and then rebuy/add on for $1. Good concept if you ask me. If you're good at freerolls then it shouldn't cost you anything.

Also, I believe it is automatically chosen (the auto-rebuy) so yuo have to turn it off. If it's the default there's nothing you can do. May not be fair, but it is right there under your nose.
 
SeanyJ

SeanyJ

Legend
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Total posts
1,558
I doubt that the software would have a bug as serious as that, like other people are saying you probably just checked the box by mistake. Just imagine if you were in a tournament with a much larger re buy cost and the software had a bug that rebought without you having a choice, that wouldn't go over well.
 
adventurebound

adventurebound

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Total posts
4,911
For what it's worth they were rather blunt about the whole deal. I've played there for a long time and no...the auto rebuy box wasn't checked this time nor the other 4 times it's happend before. Becase it's hapened before I keep an eye on it to make sure it is never checked. In the past, one tech said it could be because of connection lag, two others at Bodog said it as a software glitch they were trying to fix.

As for rebuying into a freeroll, esp. one with 3k to 5k playes is simple a fools move.

My whole point was I didn't rebuy and the Bodog rep wouldn't correct the problem. They knew I hadn't selected the rebuy box when they checked it on the main computers from their end and told so on the phone ....Not very honest customer relations IMO. It is't the buck or two that bothered me, only the way I was treated. Dishonesty in business is something that realy ticks me off.

Moving my game elsewhere...
 
Wild Rivers

Wild Rivers

Rock Star
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Total posts
251
I think I may have an explanation for this. When you bust out of chips in a Bodog rebuy tourney, a box appears that says something like..

"Rebuy?"

OK NO

The OK and NO have a box. This is confusing because most people assume it is informing them of their final placement...for example:

"You finished 225th in the tournament"
OK
In this case clicking the OK box takes you away from the table and back to main menu. I called Bodog once and complained (politely) and they credited me with tournament dollars equal to the rebuy. My experience with their customer service has been nothing but good. Sorry you had a bad experience.
 
pokerjdud

pokerjdud

Rock Star
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Total posts
357
i play on bodog alot, and this is what i know, i know that it doesnt matter if the boxes are checked or not like me, when i lose connection i come back and im on auto fold no matter what, the box isnt checked or anything, and i have to check the box then un check it to be able to play again, it is very weird so maybe you lost a conneection or something , just make sure all your boxes are checked, then un checked every time u lose connection, thats my best advice
 
adventurebound

adventurebound

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Total posts
4,911
It's happened 5 times, never checked the dang box. Always made sure the box wasn't checked. Bodog knows it and still charges me when I call them to report the problem. Simple as that.

Easy fix...no more Bodog freerolls for me if I have money in that account. Don't like the solution but it is my only choice.
 
adventurebound

adventurebound

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Total posts
4,911
A little justice at a Sit and Go........ First hand worth playing I flopped the nut full boat, slowplayed and two villans bullied all in. Next hand worth calling flopped trip J's from pockets, two more bushed all in I saw no risk so I called and hit Quads on the river. Hit quads twice more in the game. Last guy standing had me covered by 1 k, hit a great hand allin put him to a very tiny stack then hit A high straight on the flop, called his all in (34 off suit)....:D
 

Attachments

  • bodog $200 table.JPG
    bodog $200 table.JPG
    49.8 KB · Views: 10
Top