Is Omaha more of a gamble???

cdidit622

cdidit622

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I have been playing poker for years, I started playing cards in general at a very young age ( I use to gamble with the janitor in middle school) . So I've play tonk, pitty pat and reaaly stop playing those games and went to poker because I felt I had more control in poker and it seem to be a less "gamble" and more skills. Most people I know play Texas but recently I ran into a few omaha players. The two require different strategies but I would like an input, do people feel that omaha is more of an game of chance and less of a game of skills?

N

Niantic

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Most people do believe that Omaha is more of a gamble because you have much greater chance of hitting your hands.
Just take an example as a double suit hand. Almost no matter what card it is most people will call on a double suit, and if they hit a flush draw (and maybe a backdoor flush draw as well), then they won't fold. They'll only fold if they haven't hit anything on river.

At least, that is my experience!

Regards! :)

KoRnholio

KoRnholio

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Against good players you'll often both end up all in on the flop or turn (correctly) when it's the nuts against a huge draw. Generally hands run much closer together equity wise in Omaha compared to holdem. It can actually be quite hard to get the money in as a huge favorite. This makes the variance super high.

Of course, against fish a good player's edge is actually much higher than in holdem (in my opinion) and thus the variance is lower. There will be many times where the good player will be playing a solid hand like AdKsJdJs while the fish is in there with a dog crap hand like AJ85 rainbow. Flop comes KQT with two spades or diamonds and now the good player has a 30%+ chance to win the whole pot, even though both players currently have the nuts.