newbie in need of help!

A

alex-burt

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi everyone.
I'm fairly new to the game of Poker, especially playing it online. Until recently (a couple months ago) I just played with a few mates for small sums of cash over a drink and for a few laughs. I'm not really all that good just yet - still learning the game and losing mostly! I want to try to get better at Poker (holdem) and think that maybe playing online might help. I've been looking around loads of online poker sites and came across 2 that seem pretty cooool.

Can i ask if anyone has tried either Play Poker Online at AxxoPoker.com: The Internets' flagship Poker Site, or The Rivercard Online Poker Room? They seem to have some pretty jiggy online poker rooms, but i really want to know what the experts think b4 i start to spend my hard-earned dosh!

Can anyone advise me on Play Poker Online at AxxoPoker.com: The Internets' flagship Poker Site, or The Rivercard Online Poker Room?

thanks y'all.

calibanboy

calibanboy

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Well depends on what you mean by cool.

I think what a rookie needs is

- a poker room that has lots of player
- a poker room that has lots of low stakes games.
- somewhere that has freerolls.

For the above I would reccomend something like stars or full tilt. also you collect points an can exchange the points for books ( to help learning ) when you get enough.

pigpen02

pigpen02

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Dang if this doesn't look like advertising, especially since, in case you missed the first link, he put it up again. And, he says he plays at the site he wants information on!!! Wouldn't dream of looking at Cardschat room reviews for a hint at a good site.

SilentJay

SilentJay

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Yup. He's clearly just being "sneaky" with his advertising. The "Internet's Flagship Poker" thing (wtf??), and the fact that he already plays at Axxo should pretty much give that away...