Linux, WINE, and Online Poker Clients - Discussion/Experience

Barthanatos

Barthanatos

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm currently successfully using Ubuntu 9.04, WINE 1.01, and the full tilt poker client to play poker on-line.

I've been using linux for about 8 years now as my sole OS, so I'm fairly experienced at getting it to do what I want. I had never used WINE before.

Recently I decided to give on-line poker a try, and signed up with FTP. Installing WINE went smoothly and without drama. I simply used Synaptic Package Manager to install it.

The FTP client (for Windows) I obviously downloaded from their website. I saved it to my Desktop, right-clicked on it, and chose to "run using WINE". Again, the installation was uneventful.

Problems I've had:
1. No sound (fixed) - The key to this was choosing the OSS driver instead of the ALSA driver in the Wine Configuration menu. Then, I had to edit the command for the FTP launcher (shortcut icon).
Instead of:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/chris/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\Full Tilt Poker\fulltiltpoker.exe"
use:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/chris/.wine" padsp wine "C:\Program Files\Full Tilt Poker\FullTiltPoker.exe"
2. The lobby occasionally freezes (not fixed) - This has never affected gameplay for me. Once I open a table, everything seems fine. But sometimes when first opening the program (and signing on), it just sits at the lobby screen and won't do anything. I haven't really tried troubleshooting this much.
3. I haven't got Hold 'Em Manager to work (not fixed) - I have, however come across reports of it working. Also, some people apparently run HEM on their Windows machine, but run the database on a networked Linux box, using a different filesystem (can't remember, but it wasn't ext3) that is better optimized for databases. I have spent very little time trying to get HEM to work.

Other Comments:
Pokerstove works fine.
I've only played about 200 hands, so experience is limited.
Depositing works fine.