Freerolls are actually good for something.

RichKo

RichKo

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Patience....freerolls are good for developing patience. Last year at this time, was my first experience with poker. A live tournament, held annually at a local tile distributor (yes, i am a tile installer), anyway...of course my first game ever, I was out in like 15 minutes. So same time...one year later (this past saturday) I get to see how much I've improved. Tourney started with almost 80 people and went on for about 5 hrs. Now I'm sure everyone there isn't as much as a poker junky as I am, seeing as if when I mentioned a villians huge raise "under the gun" he looked at me like I had 3 eyes. Here's where the patience is involved....HOLY S@!T, I have never seen such crappy plays in my life. Everyone min raises, I think I saw one reraise (against me, when I cracked aces) and everyone plays any 2 and I mean ANY. There was probably an hour and a half when I played just my big blind and still crushed my opponents, cause they would not lay anything down. Middle pair was good enough to go to the river. Every str8 and flush got chased all the way, no matter the betting. And people didnt care about their stacks...if they thought they had a chance they were like "0h well". A short stack went all in and was called by one other(who still had thousands, early on) and since I was way ahead at my table with chips I pushed to try to isolate and the other guy called with Q9 off against my AK. Needless to say He hit for 2 pair and the short stack had K10 and hit a straight. After all is said and done, I made the final table and was out at 6th. 95 bucks for my 25 dollar buyin. It was fun, but If I didn't have the patience I learned from playing alot of freerolls, I wouldnt have made it as far as I did.

R

rufzilla

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Congrats i am glad to see how much you improved with freerolls because i was planning on going the same route

Jodieblonde