Advice For Starting Out Online

B

Black Panther

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
G'day Forum

I have been playing a weekly tourney down at my local pub, which has about 40 players. After learning the basics, and getting somewhat better, I want to try online poker, in order to get my experience up and to see whether or not I have any chance of making it online.

I have recently signed up to poker stars, and I am hoping people might be able to give me some advice as to where i should start, bearing in mind that I am still learning and dont want to risk too much money.

Should I be concentrating on Tourneys, or Fixed limit cash games, or no limit cash games, or sit n go???

From what I have observed, each game is different in its own unique way, and I am just trying to work out exactly what I should be concentrating on as a newbie.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

SavagePenguin

SavagePenguin

Put the win in penguin
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Play what you enjoy.

Ring games are going to give you a more consistent win record. You won't win as much compared to your buy-in, but you will win on a much more consistent basis.

In tournaments you'll win prizes worth several buy-in's, but on a less consistent basis.

I win more in ring games. Yeah, I'm putting more out there, but I never need to bet it all. Whereas in tournaments I'm playing live-or-die with the entire buy-in. Tournaments also get to a point where the blind and antes are so big that you *must* make life or death decisions, so there's more luck involved. That decreases any edge you have on your opposition.

But what it all boils down to is what you enjoy more. Find a balance that makes you happy. If you like tournaments, play them. If you like rings, play them. If you like MTT's, play them.

There's plenty of information on this site regarding bankroll management. Look that up and play within your limit.

fcumred

fcumred

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
G'day Forum