The Limp/Re-raise Question

Stick66

Stick66

Legend
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Total posts
6,374
While going over my recent cash game play, I have noticed a slight problem. Due to the stakes that I play and the frequency of this certain play, I have had a tendency to not respect or even to disbelieve the preflop limp/reraise play from an early or middle position player after I have initially raised. This is not a push or a min-reraise, but a large (3/4 pot-sized or more) reraise. About half the time, they DO have me beat and I usually lose a good amount of chips. But the other half of the time, I can either make them fold before showdown or they call down a weak hand. This near-equality in success versus failure keeps me in an uneasy position every time I run across this play.

Maybe it is because I think they are just "playing back at me" because they think I have raised too many times recently. But sometimes I think they are just trying to bully since they think the I or another raiser is weak. I think it is possible that my perception of this play and the whole situation is warped a bit. I know that many questions in poker are answered with "It depends", but my question is meant to be general and to apply overall. No matter the stack. No matter the read. The only 3 things that matter are your hole cards, the stakes and the opponent's position. And the question is:

In hold'em at low stakes (up to $25NL, or even $50) without AA, KK or QQ, how often should an opponent's "limp/large reraise" play from early or middle position be respected?
 
E

easy_money

Guest
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Total posts
6
HI Mr Sticker!

I´ve heard anywhere that a limp/reraise from an opponent means in at least 60% of the cases that the opponent has aces or kings. That means if you dont have aces or kings either simply fold your hand and wait for a better spot.

Good luck!
 
dj11

dj11

Legend
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Total posts
23,189
Awards
9
I look forward to some good replies here. There are similar implications in the mid to late stages of tourney play when folks are jockeying for position pre-ITM.

The tourney version might ask;

"When 2 or 3 folks are a bit sub average, and jockeying for chip stacks going into the ITM stage of a tourney, and they are playing looser than most, who are playing tight, without AA, KK, QQ how often should a limp/raise/reraise from any position be challenged?
 
vanquish

vanquish

Legend
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Total posts
12,000
I respect it 99% of the time, been trapped by it a few too many times.
 
NineLions

NineLions

Advanced beginner
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Total posts
4,979
I'll take a limp/reraise into consideration, but I'll call to see the flop. I've raised with something, and if I hit the flop hard, I'll go with it. If not, it depends on his flop bet whether I'm going to stick around.

I think your percentages are probably about right, Sticker. Half the time it happens they have something, the other half it's a Q9s a couple of beers too deep.


In this situation the most important factor for me is my reads on the player. Tight and generally weak, I'll give them more credit. Aggressive I'll give them some credit. If they're generally bad, I try to remember that everyone wakes up with a hand sometimes, otherwise I donk off my chips.
 
edge-t

edge-t

Rock Star
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Total posts
365
In general, I'll call and see the flop. I'll usually respect a limp/raise.
 
joosebuck

joosebuck

Legend
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Total posts
4,193
low stakes it's pretty obvious. 200max+ you see more tricky players and respect it a little less. then again it's not a great move to get into the habit of so you tend to see it less at higher stakes. it's kind of a judge it as you come across it thing.
 
ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Total posts
13,642
Depends.

:D

But really, it's pretty hard to answer your question without getting into player reads, your table image, etc etc.

Put very generally, a limp utg followed by a reraise is usually indicative of a pretty big hand. QQ+ or AK.

From middle position to late position, if they limp first in and reraise a player's raise behind them, then to me it's usually a weaker ace or pair. Something they initially wanted to see a cheap flop with, but it's strong enough to now raise.

Post a few specific HHs and you'll get better answers, no doubt.
 
Wolfpack43ACC

Wolfpack43ACC

Visionary
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Total posts
664
I don't recommend limping with AA or KK unless your at a table with a bunch of aggressive players, but a limp then reraise usually signifies a monster hand. If I decided to limp with AA or KK and someone did raise. If i was truly tryin to maximize my profit I'd just call. If you limp, someone raises, and you just call it is extremely difficult for them to put u on a hand like AA or KK. If you do face a limp, re-raise though in lower limit cash games more often then not fold fold fold.
 
Top