fireing that 2nd bullet

stormswa

stormswa

Legend
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Total posts
3,546
not many people can do this...

lets say you raise with something like AK and flop is something horrible with a Q high and you fire out your continuation bet and it is called. Now say the turn does not improve your hand can you fire that 2nd bullet?

now if the guy is a weak player then he would just call with KQ there instead of raising on the flop to see where he was in the hand and firing that 2nd bullet will take the pot down alot of the times. Most players shut down after their continuation bet and I just think that is bad play because if you are OOP then villain is going to bluff you off alot of hands when he sees you check.

I guess I kinda just want to start a discussion about how many bullets you would fire?


I mean if you sat with me and had pokerace hud running on me my continuation bet % would be off the chain. I most likely CB at least 80% of the time, I shut down only on turn if a really scary card comes out.
 
JimboJim

JimboJim

Legend
Joined
Aug 11, 2006
Total posts
2,152
I don't see any point in firing the first bullet if you don't plan on firing the second.
 
A

alan1983

Visionary
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Total posts
641
Used to only take one stab.

But now i fire the second one if i represented enough strength already.

I rely mostly on what my instincts tell me at that moment tbh, cant say ive developped any strategy for it.
 
aliengenius

aliengenius

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Total posts
4,596
It's really contingent on the opponent who is calling us (and on the flop texture of course).

I think there was an article recently in (in Bluff this month?) on this. From what I remember, the "rule" was that if you are going to fire the second bullet, be prepared to fire the third as well. So, either check fold, or fire all three (?).

In the absence of any other given variables I tend toward the aggressive option: blaze away.
 
stormswa

stormswa

Legend
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Total posts
3,546
yep

I don't see any point in firing the first bullet if you don't plan on firing the second.


agree 100% but you know people still do shut down on turn if they are called on flop. And im sure some people on here do which is why I started thread.
 
aliengenius

aliengenius

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Total posts
4,596
agree 100% but you know people still do shut down on turn if they are called on flop. And im sure some people on here do which is why I started thread.

Sometimes the check fold on the turn is the correct play, however.

This is really illustrative of the advantages/power of having position in NL holdem.
 
joosebuck

joosebuck

Legend
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Total posts
4,193
depends on the player. if it's someone with like 50/1/1 and a huge showdown rate ill prolly slow down. if it's someone i know reraises with weak/air hands to test me ill bet/reraise/shove with nothing
 
Top