Changing gears

Xandit

Xandit

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
First i'd like to thank all of the posters who replied to my first post, they were very helpful and i understand much better now.:proud: On to my next question,
i've been playing in a home game for about 5 months now, and do fairly well with a tight/aggressive play style, but i've found that it is harder for me to try and pick up the pot on a flop that is full of low cards. If I've raised before the flop and then bet on the low flop, I will get called or sometimes raised, because they know the kinds of hands i like to play. I don't think i'm getting bluffed off of the pot, most of the table is tight aggressive. Sometimes i belive it to be a semi-bluff from the player...but if i only have over cards, I find it kind of hard to play KQoff if the flop doesn't help...The other problem is that if i raise with a less than stellar starting hand..ie J9 or 44's which i mostly do when i have position and i get a caller i know that i am behind almost all of the time. If the flop doesn't hit, what's the play? I find that i am losing a lot chips preflop...Do i need to reraise them..bet more...play diffrent hands and hope it comes to a show down so they can see i play lot's of stuff? I want to I guess change my perception at the table? Thanks in advace.

C

colin_147

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Some good questions and a lot depends on who you are playing with and who is in the pot with you when you make your moves. If the buy in game is for $5 then forget about bluffing and only play when you hit, people just wont lay down a medium/top pair despite you high raises or reraises.

Try to vary your play up a bit, maybe after you raise preflop, check the flop and reraise any raise, change your play, of course if the other guy checks (depending on his style) you may well be in front and can bet on the turn.