*** TURN *** [8s 4c Td] [3d]
Hyiero: bets $1.75
MattS985: calls $1.75

*** RIVER *** [8s 4c Td 3d] [Jh]
Hyiero: bets $3
MattS985: raises $7 to $10
Hyiero: calls $7

*** SHOW DOWN ***
MattS985: shows [5s Ks] (high card King)
Hyiero: shows [Jc Ah] (a pair of Jacks)
Hyiero collected $26.40 from pot

How would you have played this hand? more aggressive, more tight? thanks for your thoughts

M

Metrogn0me

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
https://www.cardschat.com/forum/cas...p-posting-results-op-analysis-threads-136698/ - Don't do eeeet.

On a dry board like that, when he's reraising me when the jack falls on the river, it just shouts overpair imo (although he never reraised at any point with is confusing). You need to think to yourself whether the villian is capable of reraising you with a hand worse than AJ? I really don't see him making the move with KJ or QJ. However I'm still a beginner, so I could be wrong.

Mase31683

Mase31683

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
1st, get reads on players. Doesn't have to be crazy or anything, just a general vpip/pfr/AF will do. Enough to get an idea what they're playing with.

Limper in Early position: AJ is pretty marginal depending upon the player for an early limp. If they're loose and taking lots of flops, then yeah I'm definitely bumping the price of poker, a larger amount though. I'd probably make it something from $1.35 to $1.50 and be happy if I just take down the limp now. (I really don't like being oop)

Flop: Okay, about as dry as it gets. I'd likely cbet this and hope it ends the hand. If I get called I really don't like where I stand, but I'm oop, and need to end this hand ASAP. So I'm cbetting 65-80% pot