Best books

J

jimmiandersen

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
What do you think is the very best book for not complete beginners, but people having played for years wanting to improve their game? Mainly cash games but MTTs I also play once in a while. Which book changed your game the most?

A

alien666dj

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
The Mental Game of Poker by Jared Tendler, Barry Carter. This book helped me overcome my tilt anxiety and rethink my attitude towards the game.

Pokerstudy

Pokerstudy

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
If you want the most amazing books (IMO) for tournament poker buy Harrington on Hold’em 1+2. They are amazing, they will get you to the final table many times if you follow his conservative style. I am working on my ultra loose/bluffing game so getting to the final table is not my priority right now. Those books hold up well, even today for low stakes/large field tournaments...and can buy them used, shipped for like 5 bucks each. Fantastic books, even though old, they are amazing and full of awesome info to build a tournament playing foundation on.

Dan Harrington won wsop in 1994 or 1995 (can’t remember) and can see him finish at final table with moneymaker at 3rd or 4th. His methods will give you a perfect solid foundation for playing tournaments in a conservative fashion and easily to the final table many times in many of today’s games at lower stakes.

Last edited:
M

MichaelTyler

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I don't read poker books any more but when I did the first 4 chapters of Applications of No-Limit Hold'em by Mathew Janda was pretty good. Super System and Barry Greinstein's book are the most entertaining though, that I've read. Past a certain skill level I think all poker books become useless. In the end you need to run the calculations and study the strategy, looking for patterns. There is no substitute anymore in my opinion.