Beginner here with newbie question

I

iRon Fist

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi! I am new to poker (Texas hold em) and I love it. I want to get good at it so I've been reading.and watching tutorials. They all the me to only play premium hands from proper position while I'm a beginner. This makes perfect sense to me and so that's what I do. Fold, fold, fold. There will be times when I will fold but end up with the nuts. Also, there will be times when I play a premium hand and lose. However!!!,,, Since starting to play a little over 2 months ago, almost every premium hand I get in position loses! Likewise, about half of my folds if not more, turn out to be would-have-been winning hands! I understand it's going to happen now and then. But it's more than that for me. I'm still very new to poker, and I'm probably making some mistake as I go.. any help would be appreciated, thank you! :confused:

david1bear

david1bear

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Howdy

Hi! I am new to poker (Texas hold em) and I love it. I want to get good at it so I've been reading.and watching tutorials. They all the me to only play premium hands from proper position while I'm a beginner. This makes perfect sense to me and so that's what I do. Fold, fold, fold. There will be times when I will fold but end up with the nuts. Also, there will be times when I play a premium hand and lose. However!!!,,, Since starting to play a little over 2 months ago, almost every premium hand I get in position loses! Likewise, about half of my folds if not more, turn out to be would-have-been winning hands! I understand it's going to happen now and then. But it's more than that for me. I'm still very new to poker, and I'm probably making some mistake as I go.. any help would be appreciated, thank you! :confused: