Ian Steinman Holds On For Player of the Series, Nahrain Tamero Wins Final WSOP.com Event For $310K

3 min read

Playing under the screenname 2Rivers, Nahrain Tamero was the only player who David Tuchman and Maria Ho didn’t have a name for — or any other information on — on the official WSOP broadcast of the event. But in the end, it was the formerly anonymous Tamero who overcame the rest of the field to win the first-place prize of $310,832 and the first WSOP bracelet of his poker career.

Nahrain Tamero goes from poker unknown to WSOP bracelet winner in under 12 hours. (Image: Screenshot)

The $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Championship event of the World Series of Poker Online Series yielded a massive prize pool of $2,019,700 generated by 1,455 players and 671 rebuys. This was the biggest prize pool of the series, and Tamero’s top prize of $310,832 was second only to the $352,985 won by Joe McKeehen (fanofdapoker) in the $3,200 No-Limit Hold’em High Roller event on July 14.

Second-place finisher Norman Michalek (Abnormality) eliminated Andrew Lichtenberger (WATCHGUY42) in third place to enter heads up with a commanding chip lead of 30.5 million chips to Tamero’s 12 million chips. In the key hand of heads-up play, Michalek triple-barrel bluffed Tamero with an all-in shove on the river. Tamero snap-called with 6♦ 4♦ on a 5♦ 2♣ 6♣ J♠ 2♦ and took over the chip lead as he was good against Michalek’s Q♥ 4♠. The first-time bracelet winner never surrendered his lead en route to victory.

$1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Championship Results

  1. 1. Nahrain Tamero (2Rivers) — $310,832
  2. 2. Norman Michalek (Abnormality) — $192,073
  3. 3. Andrew Lichtenberger (WATCHGUY42) — $140,167
  4. 4. Brian Kirchhoff (FOXXX) — $103,207
  5. 5. Edan Sucov (goatplaya) — $76,749
  6. 6. Greg Wish (Bubblealot) — $57,561
  7. 7. Arian Stolt (4632647) — $43,424
  8. 8. Michael Bailey (Merlot) — $33,123
  9. 9. Kevin Calenzo (Specialk333) — $25,650

Ian Steinman Finishes First on $100,000 Leaderboard

Ian Steinman (APokerJoker2) was eliminated from the $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Championship in 314th place, min-cashing the event for $1,616. Due to the massive prize pool up for grabs in Event #31, a handful of players were still mathematically alive to take the top spot from Steinman on the $100,000 Leaderboard after his exit. All Steinman could do was watch and wait to see if his lead would hold.

Philip Ye (tomte) finished in 261st place, Dave Alfa (DunningKrugr) finished in 225th, Joe McKeehen finished in 215th, and Eric Baldwin (CircleBall) finished in 214th  — each cashing for $1,818. Anthony Zinno (heheh) made it to 129th place ($2,424) before hitting the rail, and Event #21 winner Tony Dunst landed in 106th place for $2,626

This left only three players still alive to catch Steinman. The sweat continued down to four tables before Ryan Laplante (Protential) was eliminated in 30th place for $7,877. Bryan Piccioli (Pellepelle) quickly followed in 27th place for $9,897. Soon after the action made its way down to two tables, Ian Steinman could finally celebrate his victory when Upsehka De Silva (gomezhamburg) was eliminated in 18th place for $12,320.

Steinman’s win on the WSOP $100,000 Leaderboard earns the poker pro an $18,000 first-place prize and bragging rights as the de facto player of the series.

Top 9 $100,000 Leaderboard Finishers and Cash Prizes

  1. 1. Ian Steinman (APokerJoker2) — $18,000
  2. 2. Ryan Torgersen (Im.Sorry) — $12,000
  3. 3. Robert Kuhn (BustinBalls) — $9,000
  4. 4. Philip Yeh (tomte) — $7,000
  5. 5. Roland Israelashvili (prngls12) — $5,000
  6. 6. William Romaine (SlaweelRyam) — $4,000
  7. 7. Tony Dunst (Panoramic) — $3,000
  8. 8. Jonathan Dokler (Art.Vandelay) — $2,000
  9. 9. Ryan Leng (Adopt_aDogg0) — $2,000

Related Posts

Did you know about our poker forum? Discuss all the latest poker news in the CardsChat forum

Popular Stories