Strategy Over the Course of a Tourney

SocialBombast

SocialBombast

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm still fairly new to online poker since I've only been playing a few months. I've finished top five in a few freeroll tourneys but I'd like to build a bankroll faster and am hoping it's reasonable to think I can win these more often. I've been playing tight at the beginning to slowly build a healthier stack then I've been opening up hands I'm willing to play like suited connectors. I still feel like there are other long-term strategies I should employ or at least be aware of. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Yanko57

Yanko57

Community Guide
Community Guide
Total posts
Awards
Chips
The best advice I would give you is get to know your opponents and pick the right spot to make moves.

Playing tight is always a good thing if you start, but observing along the way is crucial.

example: that guy always raises me when I'm Big Blind as I'm really tight so I will defend with lower cards that I'm used to.

There's no shortcut to build a bankroll. Practice, read, practice, study, practice. You'll made it with hard work. Nothing else.

Minus272c

Minus272c

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You can easy impliment suited connectors to your strategy.

But its very situational.
You should not enter in pots with suited connectors unless your in good position
like co and bnt.
You should not enter with them in reraised pots, as you will most likely be up gainst
mid to big pairs.
You should not play suited connectors if you have below 40 bb, there wont be enough stack
to play them right.

If you dont know pot odds, you should learn it, knowing when to fold and when to call on
draws will give you a possetive ev ;)

This is just my opinion :D

SocialBombast

SocialBombast

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips