The Squeeze (lower limits)

W

Weicester

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi there my fellow poker addicts,

After a 4 year break I started playing tournament poker again. I noticed some slight changes in the way people play, but the biggest thing I noticed is that the so called squeeze play has become incredibly ineffective. In every tournament where I've tried it (in the later stages) people call me off with AQo, AJo, sometimes even worse, while having a pretty tight table image and when there's really no reason to call off that amount of their stack at that point in the tournament with those kind of hands. I think it has something to do with people shoving with all kinds of medium or lower pairs, but even in that case they're still taking a coinflip they will lose more often than they will win it.

Has anyone experienced the same? What do you think about it?

S

sillymunchie

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Your whole point is that you are talking about the lower limits, people will call alot of strange all in situations, they dont need to risk it but they have AJo so why shouldnt they call, table image, you have one but it dont matter because they have AJo
even if the opponents are thinking about your image in the lower limits i have found there are so many people that dont care and will just play there own hand because its the best they have had in a while, or they just think that its good, and in my experience its why there is so much more varience in the lower limits,