This is a discussion on Should I ever play this? within the online poker forums, in the Tournament Poker section; So, I was in a freeroll. I had kj suited. 9 players at the table. Id stacked up to 100bb at the third blind level.
So, I was in a freeroll. I had kj suited. 9 players at the table. Id stacked up to 100bb at the third blind level. I raise 4 bbs.. Get 4 callers. King with no draws whatsoever. Again, no draws on turn, raise, then get released to half my stack. The guy has twice as many chips as me, and I have more than anyone else at the table. I rule out AN, firstly because he's pretty loose, secondly because he's acting shaky. I think about kq. It's a possibility, but I push all in, thinking he had a lower king. He calls, shows king queen. Wins pot. Was I wrong to push here?
I don't understand the entire scenario here. How many players in the pot after the post flop raise? And who was the raiser?
With 5 players post flop, top pair decent kicker is not a good hand. You could easily be beaten with a higher kicker, to pair or a set. Specially with 5 players in the pot post flop.
you were wrong to push from post flop imo. Specially not half the stack
Usually people in many ways flop wont call an all in with KT or lower unless they got KT,K9,K8 suited. But in many ways pots it's really likely to happen that someone will have KQ AK so you should be aware of these hands and try to get a showdow as cheap as possible. Shoving there wasnt the worst thing as a bluff, but i guess you wanted to get payed on that river. Shoving is a bit to big size there i guess /:
Too many people on pot, I guess you were a little ahead of yourself, there were 5 players who called your 4bb raise, kings were certainly on their range, you had a medium kicker, I think that in long term it would be a bad decision to push
Unless you won this was the wrong call. So many times whatever the lowest card is on the table, the player has two of them in their hand, which makes your highest pair useless.
Scenario 2 is you have more chips than every person at the table except a person who is in the hand with you. Again, wrong call. You can make a wrong call against everyone who has fewer chips than you. But if you make a wrong all in with someone who has more chips than you, there is a name for that. It's called reload.
Never bet all your chips unless you got the nuts or pretty close to it!
For a portion of my poker days I have lost tournaments getting out kicked. You always have to consider that you might be biting into just a little bit bigger of a monster than you have. Especially when you have lax betters that don't like to bet unless they have 2 pair or higher. You probably should have probed the KQ with a bet of 5x the blind so you could leave some of your stack left just in case.
If I get it right, you went all in with just one pair. Well, if he followed your raises it was obviously that he has something good. You could do only small raise but never all in with one pair. Even if you did have two pairs and there is a possibility that he has bigger pair, you should never go all in.