SB RFI sizing?

L

leeroy818

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi everyone.

I'm studying my preflop ranges at the moment, and I want to look into some theory around bet sizing to go along with it (this is for online tournament poker, rather than cash/live) - in particular, opening size from the SB.
I am currently using the following strategy:
When effective stacks are 50bb+, I'm opening 3x from EP, 2.5x from MP, 2.2x from the BU and 2.5x from the SB.
When effective stacks are around 30-40bb, I'm opening 2.5x from EP and MP, and 2.1x from BU. I'm still tending to use 2.5x from SB.
When effective stacks are 15-25bb, I'm opening 2.3x from EP, 2.1/2.2x from MP, 2x from BU, and 2.2x from the SB.
I feel comfortable with the EP, MP and LP, but I'm unsure as to whether my SB sizing needs some thought.
What sizing people are generally using when RFI from the SB, and why do you choose the size? I appreciate that adjustments will be made based on who the BB is, but I'd still like to make sure my 'default' sizing is accurate enough so that I can adjust appropriately based BB's tendencies. Thanks for any input!

Jon Poker

Jon Poker

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
RFI sizing should be based upon effective stack sizing and should not change via table positioning - that said, I think its a personal note and if you choose to do such, as long as you keep your sizings consistent - its not going to be a large problem. The issue with sizing up in general (unless you are super deep, 100bb+) is that you are going to be facing a much more condensed range from your villans when they call you, they will not be getting a good price with some marginal holdings and therefor will be folding much more of those.