Is satellite a good way to qualify for a big tournament?:wavey:

Norman Vasquez

Norman Vasquez

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips

I am no expert, but I used to play satellites to qualify for other tournaments, but I don’t like it anymore.

1) In terms of bankroll management, in order to have a return of an investment you need to get in the prize in two tournaments in a row. That said I think you need the same bankroll to play either the satellite or the main tournament. So why play the satellite if you have the money to play the main tournament. And if you think you don’t have the bankroll to play the main tournament then you don’t have it to play the satellite.

2) In pokerstars, the relative rake of the tournament is greater in satellites than the main tournament.

naydanazar

naydanazar

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Of course there is, it saves you money and you go to big tournaments with a big bain

Tmoney999

Tmoney999

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips

I love to satellite into bigger tourneys for a fraction of the price, it is one of my favorite things to do. The only problem with some sattys on Stars is that you satellite into a tournament and it has already been running for an hour plus. I hate those satellites they are putting you in a awkward position from the get go. If you can satellite into a tourney and start from when it begins or a few minutes in then that is a awesome spot. You need to be in grind mode if you expect to satellite into a tourney then win a tourney right after, such a long stretch of play. This is do able and the fact you satellited into the tourney makes it so much sweeter when you cash or win. I say give the satellites a shot they are there for a reason to make a tourney not that pricey to play, you just have to have a lot of time and patience to succeed with them.

FoxMS

FoxMS

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips