Running Deep in MTTs

Jooseme

Jooseme

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi Poker Friends!!

I've been having an issue with going very deep in 1k+ entry tournaments, but start to fall off after we make the money. I'm not sure if my play should change once I get so deep, but some insight would be helpful. I'm right there!!!

F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
In large field MTTs you typically need to go back to a rather aggressive style, once the money bubble has burst. If for instance at that point its 150 players left, you are still very far from the final table, and getting the next payjump is typically not very important. So you need to get it there and battle, and of course most of the time this will result in you not reaching the final table. This is just the way, math works in those big fields.

Since I started playing on 888 Poker again back in may 2020, I have played a large number of their 5,5$ "big fish", which typically see 800-1.000 entries, and I have yet to make a final table. In their smaller field MTTs however I have made a bunch of final tables and also won several. Just this latest session I played 6 MTTs, and with several rebuys in some R+A events, I made it to the final 6 in two. Those however were events with around 100 players rather than 1.000. So frankly the best way to get more deep runs is to play in smaller fields.

G

gryphon3005

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips