Registration Timing

G

GEO12GIO

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
At first i thought joining tournaments with minutes left on late registration would give me better odds at finishing in the money, this is because late reg ends as soon as I join and the field is ever decreasing. No rebuys. I'm new to poker and using this strategy i finished 7th in a tourney with about 700 players
Recently this has not been very successful as the blind and ante sizes eat your chips pretty quick, you have to get the ball rolling straight away for any chance.
Just wondering, as a new player, if anyone has any thoughts or theories on what is the best time to start a tourney

Last edited by a moderator:
C

ChrystalClear

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I always start as soon as possible. Sometimes the first few mins can be a little choppy but they play settles in.

Edu1

Edu1

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
at the beginning of the tournament is better, as you said after a long time the ante and the blinds eats your pretty quick
it also depends on how long is this late registration and the blind structure
in my opinion the most important to evaluate if you want to enter the tournament after it starts, is the blind structure, like if double every 10 minutes 15, you can think and come in a little later

Bluffzone68

Bluffzone68

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
BZ
Chips
Hi
I would always prefer to register before time, but start playing after about 15-20 minutes into the tourney.
My logic is that at the start Some players tend to go all in with any two cards and your own Ax could be at risk.

By starting a little late you don't lose much blinds too.:)

cyrilflorendooo

cyrilflorendooo

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I always join when starting chips match in 60 to 70 bb.

T

tomk7788

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
With 20-30 big blinds you don't have a lot of options. Less than 20 even fewer options.

M

manitoba420