This is a discussion on Question about PLO within the online poker forums, in the Tournament Poker section; Quick question about PLO. I just started playing it so I dont know all the rules and one thing caught my eye. I was playing
Quick question about PLO. I just started playing it so I dont know all the rules and one thing caught my eye. I was playing Heads-Up in Spin&Go PLO with some guy. My hand was 4 and 9 of Hearts and 2 random cards. His cards were Q Hearts and 10, 8 and A Spade, Club and Diamond.
Community cards were 3 of clubs and A, K, J and 10 Hearts. I had Flush, but he had Royal Flush and I still won. How is that possible?
You can't make a flush in PLO with a rainbow hand (one of each suit).
Two cards MUST play out of your hand and three cards on the board MUST play at all times.
You won with a 9 high flush because you had 2 hearts in your hand, he does not have a flush with only one heart and 4 other hearts on board (since only 3 board cards can ever play, he has a straight with the board and cards you described).
PLO is not like hold'em where you can use the 4 or all 5 board cards if needed, you specifically only use 3 board cards and two cards from your hand.