Lost !! But did the right decision???

G

GeneralKosta

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
DE
Chips
Im new to poker. I play a tournament. 30 players left. 8 pl. Table. Most of the players at my table have stacks around 50k except me and another player. Both 300k.

I have AA. BB is 8k and i double to 16k. The other guy goes all in with 300k, I think wtf. I have AA what good cards could have this guy to risk this huge stack. Till that moment my strategy was to play very passive to get as far as possible and im in a very comfortable position. I could fold every card and reach the final table.

I go ALL IN. I think with these cards i have to call. He has 10 10. He gets the set at the flop. I lose everything. I cant sleep now but i think i had to call and i had bad luck. What would be the right decision in your opinion? Thanks

Last edited:
duqnuk

duqnuk

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
Certainly it was a good call with Aces.

Pocket Aces wins around 80% of the time, so that means 20% of the time your going to lose.
Pre-flop you had very good chances to win agaisn't pocket 10s.

Its certainly a risk going all-in versus a large stack that can kick you out of the tournament, but still, was a good call.

AlphaCentauro

AlphaCentauro

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Depending on a buy in I try to avoid calling all in preflop. It’s ok to mess around in freerolls and 💩 but when you buy into the tournament it’s really pointless to risk it until you guarantee your money back. AA does not guarantee you the win, it gives you a lot of equity preflop but it doesn’t guarantee you will win the hand.

G

GeneralKosta

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
DE
Chips