How bad did I screw this up?

B

BamaRaised

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I am relatively new to playing MTT's, so I am still trying to figure out how to navigate later stages with my limited experience. Last night I found myself in this position. Picked up AJ on the button with around 20BB left, everyone folds around to me, I raise 40k, SB goes all in, with around 16 BB's left I call and end up being dominated by AQ. Blinds were 10/5k at the time. I had the feeling that the guy in the SB position had been using his stack to push people around, which factored into my decision to call. Some feedback on how I could have played this hand better would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

oVpnLeZ.png

deyvsonflp

deyvsonflp

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
A classic example of steal and resteal. I think there is no error in the call. With this stack AJs it's easy to call. But know that you will always be in flip. But I consider it a good call. I just don't like the 4x pre flop. If you open 4x you cannot fold. I prefer to shove straight on the pre flop or mini raise.

gravac

gravac

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Classic blind steal and no luck. Since the tournament is getting in the bubble or ahead you must play more hands which you don't like so much, because if you sit and wait for rockets or KK to come maybe you wouldn't have a chance to meet them.
From my point of view you did not do anything wrong, you simple didn't have luck to win this hand.

partz

partz

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Thats a unlucky hand mate, I cant find any major mistake in your game. It happens so many times, i guess!

swerdnase

swerdnase

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You had a read on your opponent and decided to gamble with a reasonable hand. No real error here, especially if you believed you were ahead.

300HPGOD

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips