EV+ MTT?

C

cesar626

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi! I'm relatively new to poker, So I'm still learning my way around. But can a MTT be EV+ from the late registration end or even earlier? Let's say the buy in is $1 and the prize pool has $200 garanteed but by the time the registration ends (assumings there is no more chance for rebuy or add-on) there are only 100 players. A simple average ( not accounting for skill) would suggest the expected value would be $2. What are your toughts?

jordanbillie

jordanbillie

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hi! I'm relatively new to poker, So I'm still learning my way around. But can a MTT be EV+ from the late registration end or even earlier? Let's say the buy in is $1 and the prize pool has $200 garanteed but by the time the registration ends (assumings there is no more chance for rebuy or add-on) there are only 100 players. A simple average ( not accounting for skill) would suggest the expected value would be $2. What are your toughts?

Correct:cool:

NWPatriot

NWPatriot

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips

Strictly speaking, i suppose you could interpret it that way, but I think there is a lot more to consider in a late entry. If you register a few seconds before the registration period ends, and you start off with a 10bb stack and the average stack is 40bb+, you are at a serious disadvantage and you do not really have full chip utility in your toolbox. So your particular EV, is not going to be nearly as good as EVERYONE else. You are already in shove/fold mode and you are at the mercy of the deck. This is high variance poker that resembles the lottery, more than poker.

When I enter late, I will only do so if I can have at least a 25bb stack and I am no more than a single double up away from the average stack. This is my personal preference to ensure that I can still play some poker.

Good luck and God Bless.

marianexbj

marianexbj

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips