Early Tournament Strategy

D

Dhendrixon

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
What are peoples thoughts on early tournament strategy? I am new to the tournament world and are looking for suggestions. Since when you first start a tournament, the blinds are low and have more of a chip stack to work with, would you take this time to gamble more and try to accumulate more chips or play tighter as their are usually more wild players at this stage of a tournament (specially at lower stakes).

D

Delfino

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Most books suggest to play tight early to get a good image and don't lose your stack on marginal hands. IMHO this doesn't apply well to online play as blinds go up much faster and nobody cares about your image anyway. That is why I suggest to see a lot of cheap flops with low pocket pairs, connectors and suited aces to hit big and double up. On the other hand play strong hands with caution being ready to fold them if you face all-in after flop.

Last edited:
Propane Goat

Propane Goat

Grinder and paint make me the welder I ain't
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Definitely don't get loose and bleed chips by chasing draws without good odds and calling 3-bets pre-flop with mediocre hands early on. You might hit and win a big pot once in a while but over the long haul you're going to lose more chips that you will gain.

Chips in your own stack are worth more than chips that are not.

laifstaile

laifstaile

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
the key word is TIGHT....
Yeah u have a lot blinds to play but if u start calling 3x with 67s the ur stack melts like spring´s snow...

SwaggyJ

SwaggyJ

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips