A new trend of donking out of the blinds

K

krezip

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
hi guys

I just started playing again after being absent for a number of years and I noticed that it has become a new trend to donk out of the blinds after calling a raise.

Is this indeed a new trend and what are the general guidelines for doing this? Basically I see people donking Ace high flops and wet boards that hit a SB/BB calling range - even if they don't hold a hand.

Some people even donk the minimum bet to see what the preflop raiser will do.

Any ideas on the general thoughts behind this? I like it!

Andrew Popov

Andrew Popov

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I think this is an overly aggressive hand with speculative hands. With the current level of rakeback (it is almost not at pokerstars), this may not be justifiably expensive game.

L

LuisBoaC

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I've always wondered why the donk bet has such negative connotations. I think it can be used to find out where you stand if you hit a small part of the flop (e.g 2nd pair), especially if the pre-flop raiser c-bets regularly, as the c-bet could mean anything.

K

krezip

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I've always wondered why the donk bet has such negative connotations. I think it can be used to find out where you stand if you hit a small part of the flop (e.g 2nd pair), especially if the pre-flop raiser c-bets regularly, as the c-bet could mean anything.
for sure it's more cheap than check/raising indeed

J

japg11

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I have not seen this much.
But I can advise you to study the most common situations: work on your preflop, your cbet on the flop, your barrels, and then in more specific situations, such as donks or 4 bets ..

K

kkonicke

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips