Lets chat about GTO in live games

Pokerstudy

Pokerstudy

Legend
Total posts
Chips
So, I am studying GTO for live games, and sure, they may work against pros (if pros are playing GTO also?), but some of the % decisons per charts just seem ridiculous to me. Especially the blind vs blind.

Do these charts really work against rec players? Again, I am not looking to be pro, just to play games to make extra income.

Poker_Mike

Poker_Mike

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
So, I am studying GTO for live games, and sure, they may work against pros (if pros are playing GTO also?), but some of the % decisons per charts just seem ridiculous to me. Especially the blind vs blind.

Do these charts really work against rec players? Again, I am not looking to be pro, just to play games to make extra income.

What charts are you looking at?

Pokerstudy

Pokerstudy

Legend
Total posts
Chips
What charts are you looking at?
The ones I am looking at are GTO charts from Johnathan Little, but I imagine there are others out there as well? The game is in theory solved via solvers and there are charts that display the stats, or rather explain the percentage of times you should play in each situation per position/stack size/RFI/OrVSRaisers or limps etc.

Obviously, nobody is a computer and can remember all of the data, but to get a better understanding of it I feel would benefit my live game. I just am having a hard time seeing some of the logic in some of the “solved” equations.

This makes me think that GTO really only does work against players playing GTO…So I am trying to see how I would really benefit to study GTO, I am puzzled TBH:). Is it helpful to learn? I just do not know.

I did say I believe that GTO would not work in the past against players not playing GTO, but want to take another look at it just to be sure lol

Thanks

Last edited:
Poker_Mike

Poker_Mike

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips