Going all-in question

K

KPR

Rising Star
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Total posts
5
When going all-in at N/L Holdem and 2 people are left but one throws cards down at end face down thinking he is beat but then sees that he has a straight beating the other guys trips, who wins the hand since the guy threw his cards face down into the middle thinking he lost the hand.
 
MrDaMan

MrDaMan

Visionary
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Total posts
529
Depends on a couple of things, I think the most important at this point will be the intentions of the player who threw the cards down and where the cards are physically when his intentions are made known,

If his cards don't hit the muck, and he declares to the dealer to flip them over for him they are still live and playable.

If his cards hit the muck, if the dealer picks them up and slides them to the muck before his intentions are made clear they are out of play. Edit some more; Anytime the cards hit the muck they are out of play no matter what the "intent". Intent may be clear but if the dealers shove them into the muck they are out of play. The devils in the details.

Some floormen may differ and put more emphasis on "intent" others on the physical location of the cards, then intent, but I think above is the most common guideline.

Edit added; If the cards don't hit another players cards, if they don't hit the muck they are playable if turned over by anyone ... they are playable.
 
Last edited:
K

KPR

Rising Star
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Total posts
5
Thanks MrDaMan this gives me a better idea of how this should have went as we allowed the guy to turn his cards and win the pot.

This is a friendly home game (well was till this happened :p) so we allowed him to turn his cards as they had not gone into the muck but he had not asked the dealer to turn them but his intentions were he was beaten so this tells me he shouldnt have and should be more carefull when reading the cards.

Cheers
Kev
 
Jack Daniels

Jack Daniels

Charcoal Mellowed
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Total posts
13,414
Here is the info from Robert's Rules of Poker...

DEAD HANDS
1. Your hand is declared dead if:
(a) You fold or announce that you are folding when facing a bet or a raise.
(b) You throw your hand away in a forward motion causing another player to act
behind you (even if not facing a bet).
(c) In stud, when facing a bet, you pick your upcards off the table, turn your upcards
facedown, or mix your upcards and downcards together.
(d) The hand does not contain the proper number of cards for that particular game
(except at stud a hand missing the final card may be ruled live, and at lowball
and draw high a hand with too few cards before the draw is live). [See Section 16
- “Explanations,” discussion #4, for more information on the stud portion of this
rule.]
(e) You act on a hand with a joker as a holecard in a game not using a joker. (A
player who acts on a hand without looking at a card assumes the liability of
finding an improper card, as given in Irregularities, rule #8.)
(f) You have the clock on you when facing a bet or raise and exceed the specified
time limit.
2. Cards thrown into the muck may be ruled dead. However, a hand that is clearly identifiable may
be retrieved at management's discretion if doing so is in the best interest of the game. We will
make an extra effort to rule a hand retrievable if it was folded as a result of incorrect information
given to the player.
3. Cards thrown into another player's hand are dead, whether they are faceup or facedown.
 
Top