Where do I start?

V

Vivekg14

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,
I've been playing poker for a couple of years (badly) but in the last couple months or so have been trying to improve my game by speaking to a few people about how i've played certain hands. Starting to think about developing ranges and allocating ranges to players. Have been slightly more profitable but still a losing/break even player.

What should i start doing to improve my game? Enjoy both tournaments and cash but primarily tourneys. should i focus on hand analysis and go down a learn as you play route? or am i better off reading any particular books before i start

Garfield52

Garfield52

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I learned a lot just by reading posts here on Cardschat. The memebers here offer lots of great advice from time to time

Psyanide14

Psyanide14

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
As Garfield said, lots of good info on here. Also lots of you tube videos out there breaking down hands. Of course there is always the tried and true books which you can probably get at your local library (yes libraries still exist). Try to read as much as you can but also play a lot for experience.

. freerolls are a nice way to practice with a chance at small cash with no risk. Just don’t develop bad habits copying players who go all in every hand.

Enjoy and good luck.

frnandoh

frnandoh

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
Hi all,
I've been playing poker for a couple of years (badly) but in the last couple months or so have been trying to improve my game by speaking to a few people about how i've played certain hands. Starting to think about developing ranges and allocating ranges to players. Have been slightly more profitable but still a losing/break even player.