When will variance throw me a stick?

M

MajorNas

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I just started playing online just over a month ago.

Been playing 2NL, and seriously struggling. After going +38$ after an initial buyin, I've been on a serious downswing since then. After two more buy ins, I'm at around -50$, or worse. I'm scared to check.

I was at $22 balance earlier today. I was playing well, until I lost an AA all-in to a J10 suited call pre-flop that beat me with a flush. Then, I lost another AA (with an A on the board) to a straight.

Then, the following happened. I had A5 suited hearts on the flop against 2 villains. Board is Kh Jh 8s. I raised, villain one re-raised, villain two (deep stack) shoved, I called, villain one called. 3 all-ins.

Flop comes a Jc, river comes 2h.

I thought I had won it because I was focused on the flush. Turns out villain 1 had JJ and villain 2 had 88. They split the pot with 4 of a kind and fullhouse.

Unbelievable.

I know I'm venting, but after improving my play, working on my game so meticulously over the past couple of weeks... It just feels like I'm losing cash without establishing a bankroll at the lowest stakes.

My buddy who has 10+ years experience and plays at 200NL right now has analyzed my pokertracker religiously and has helped me iron out many kinks in my game. I'm now averaging a VPIP of 18 with PFR of ~15. In other words, I'm no longer playing marginal hands preflop.

I'm folding a lot more as well.

Essentially, besides me complaining about variance, I'm wondering if there's light at the end of this tunnel.

I really want to take poker seriously and I want it as a source of income. I know it will take time, even a few years... But how am I to get there with such a horrendous start?

Is it possible?

Variance really is not collaborating with me right now.