What's Wrong With the Odds?

I

Ichnusa1

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi Guys and Girls

I’m relatively new to poker (NLHE mainly) and I’m trying to get my head around all the main concepts of poker. Below is an example that caused lots of confusion in my head with equity and chances of winning a pot with specific cards.

My holding: KdQd
Villain’s holding: Ac8s

When I checked with PokerStove my chance of winning pre-flop I was very surprised to find out how big chance I had

KdQd - 46.377%
Ac8s - 53.623%

I don’t know how it’s possible that I am only 1.2:1 underdog with this holding if in order to win I have to hit a K or a Q and avoid any 8 and A. I have only 6 outs so only 6 cards can help me to win the pot and 44 will bust me.

One in 6.3 cards make me a winner here and I have 5 chances to hit the card (flop, turn, river) – that’s a pretty big chance of winning. The problem I see is that my opponent is he winner already and has exactly the same chance of hitting a pair, two pairs, set, full-house and even quads. The only advantage I have is the chance of hitting straight or flush? Would this make so much difference and improve my chance of winning that much?

Can you please tell me where do I make mistake? What am I missing here?

Please help 

Thanks

P

ph_il

Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
That's accurate.

Being suited, you get a ~3% increase on your equity. Also, being connecting cards gives you a slight more equity than if the weren't. For example Kd9d is only ~44%.

Your 46% equity is the chance that you'll make something by the river all added up. So that's any pair, 2 pair, trips, etc with a bigger edge on making a straight or flush over A8o. True A8 has the same chance of pairing or better, and can win if you both miss, which is why it has a slight edge preflop.

Also, your equity will quickly drop as the board comes out and you miss. On the turn, if you have no draws other than a single pair, you drop to 12% equity.