Whats the Fundamentals Every beginner should know???

Ritros

Ritros

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey everyone!

I am not new to poker, but I want to up my game a bit. Overall, I would consider myself a decent player at small stakes ($1/$2 NLH and small buy in tournaments), though honestly I'm probably closer to break even than winning. I want to put some solid time and effort into my game and, especially since I'm more or less a self taught player, I want to make sure I have a solid foundation to build up my skills upon.

If you were to teach a beginner how to play winning NLH (after they learn hand rankings and the flow of the game), what would you teach them?

Pot odds/Implied odds? Starting Hand Theory? Bet Sizing? What Else?

Ryan Laplante

Ryan Laplante

CardsChat Pro
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hey everyone!

I am not new to poker, but I want to up my game a bit. Overall, I would consider myself a decent player at small stakes ($1/$2 NLH and small buy in tournaments), though honestly I'm probably closer to break even than winning. I want to put some solid time and effort into my game and, especially since I'm more or less a self taught player, I want to make sure I have a solid foundation to build up my skills upon.

If you were to teach a beginner how to play winning NLH (after they learn hand rankings and the flow of the game), what would you teach them?

Pot Odds/Implied odds? Starting Hand Theory? Bet Sizing? What Else?
Pick up a great book on the game that has most of what you need: Excelling At No-Limit Hold'em by Jonathan Little.

Has a ton of good fundamental information for newer players.

HypnoT0AD

HypnoT0AD

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
The Theory of Poker By David Sklansky is also a good read, it has info on other games in addition to NLHE.

P

pauloandre100

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Set a range of Open Raise, 3Bet, 4Bet, Cold Call. Set size bets.

Luvepoker

Luvepoker