Transitioning from freerolls to micro MTTs

Vlaad

Vlaad

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I'm a beginner and I'm mainly playing freerolls, since I'm still learning and don't consider myself good enough to risk even small buy-ins. I wonder when it would be reasonable transitioning into playing micros. Let's say I manage to place in the top 40% of these freerolls pretty consistently (with consistently I mean like 4 out of 5 times). Would this suggest that I'm "good enough" for playing micros, or should I be regularly reaching top 20%? I'm playing the bronze member freerolls on pokerstars and GGpoker, if that matters.

I know there's not one way to do it, and it depends on many aspects. I just want to know your opinions and experiences. At what skill level did you start playing micros? Was it too early in your opinion?

sara maria

sara maria

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I do not think you have to have experience to play for real money, since it is proven that the bad streak exists, and I do not think that playing a $ 1 tournament you will be poor or you will have to eat stone broth, and you know that nothing risky nothing won . The advice I can give you is that you do not compromise your bankroll if you are not sure, I recommend that you play a maximum of 10% of what you have in your bankroll until you are completely sure of winning, greetings :)

ammje

ammje

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Freerolls have nothing to do with real money, in freerolls players play crazy.
So winning money in freerolls is not going to guarantee that you will win money in real money tournaments.
What matters most is that you play well, and always try to improve, in cardschat you can find a lot of material to improve your game, for example this article is very good.
Become a Winning Poker Player in 30 Days - CardChat.com ™ (cardschat.com)