Should a beginner build a stake from scratch or play micro stakes?

K

Kinghumez

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,

I'm very new to the game and I have read some posts on this forum about building a bankroll from scratch by playing freeroll tournaments.
I have a considerable amount of personal savings so I am able to fund my own bankroll to play cash games.

What would you recommend for a beginner?
Freeroll tournaments or microstakes? Or both?

Any other advice would be much appreciated :)

:kc4:ing Humez

pokerstars: KingHumez

D

dgroes

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello King Humez! If you think about it yourself it is person specific. If you have a bankroll to start with and want to play you can speed up the process by funding your account and not losing more than your planned drawback right? If you are determinded to play freerolls it takes forever unless you do it full time (which does not necessarily translate to earnings you get from a job - therefore not really best option even if free money.) its ofcourse great to freeroll for practice but once you get ground you should be stepping up. Hope this helps! GL!

korneel

korneel

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It all depends on how good you really are.
When I started playing poker I funded my own bankroll, but I was really bad.
So in hindsight, it would have been better if I started with freerolls, but everybody is different.

S

successlaw

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I would choose to deposit some money and try on micro stakes. Usually people are crazy at freerolls and it's gamble there.

Gaviria8

Gaviria8

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
If you can play enough number of freerolls, start playing freerolls. If there's not many freerolls that you can play, start playing micros.

lcid86

lcid86

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips