W

whitetailbuck10

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
CA
Chips
I see so many posts about studying the game of poker and places to learn more of the game, what books to read and what videos to watch.

I think I am a bit of an odd duck. I am a self taught (for the most part) poker player. Other than going online to figure out the odd thing I have done wrong in the past, I have never read a book, studied the game online or watched videos. I know Cardschat has incredible learning tools to help people out (my wife used them to get herself started in poker), but I am actually scared to study the game too much. I think part of what makes me a good player is that I don't always do what is expected with the cards I have? My game is decent to good and I fear I will end up changing my game too much by "studying" the game or reading books/watching videos.

What's your thoughts on this?

Anyone else self taught and wondering the same thing?

Has anyones game changed for the worse after studying the game?

heguli82

heguli82

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
FI
Chips
Studying and all that is useful if playing is your day job and you play a lot.

offeron

offeron

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
It is necessary to study and practice, otherwise you will not become a professional.

Kenzie 96

Kenzie 96

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
I see so many posts about studying the game of poker and places to learn more of the game, what books to read and what videos to watch.