Reasons why i should raise pre-flop ?

blommen

blommen

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello! im pretty new to poker and i have been playing for about 3 weeks.My question is pretty simple. Why should i raise pre-flop.

Lets say i have Ace and 10. Most people would probably raise but i don't get why.
If You raise and get a shitty flop and your opponent bets you probably fold so that's one reason why i don't raise pre-flop.

one more reason why i don't usually raise is because the whole point of having a good hand is to win the most amount of money you can. so if you raise and everyone folds you only win small and big blind.

I might be missing something as i said i'm new to poker. It would be nice of some of you guys could prove i'm wrong. Thx

F

FailX21

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
As you said, by raising you make some people fold. You don't want to go post-flop with too many players involved, cause the more person there is, the more chances there is than someone hit the board.

By raising, only people with good or correct hands will call you, reducing the chance of someone else than you hitting the board. Of course, after that you need to play well to take advantage of that, but it should be easier and more profitable.

You say you're trying to make more money by getting more persons involved, but limping (calling the BB), isn't much money, and if they have bad hands they will either fold post flop or hit the board and screw you with a weaker hand. So by raising, you increase both your chances and the money in the pot.

blommen

blommen

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
As you said, by raising you make some people fold. You don't want to go post-flop with too many players involved, cause the more person there is, the more chances there is than someone hit the board.