Question about strategy, for a beginner

jadaminato

jadaminato

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hi, I'm a beginner player. I like to play mostly tournaments. Almost always I play in a very conservative way, seeing between 15% and 20% of the hands, but yesterday something interesting happened to me: I played a tournament whose prize did not really matter to me, so I played just to have fun and I did it in a much more aggressive way than usual. Well, I got the second place among 2500 participants (and I lost the first place in the last play). With my previous way of playing the most I had achieved had been to be among the first twenty. So now I have been thinking, and I would like to receive the advice of more experienced people: is it a good strategy to play very aggressive during the first stage of the tournaments, to achieve the largest stack of chips and then "control" to the opponents? I mean, I know I took a lot of risks that could have left me out in the middle of the tournament but, could it be more profitable to play that way and stay out of many but you win from time to time?

infonazar

infonazar

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
UA
Chips
A good strategy for a beginner is to always be patient and wait for good cards. An aggressive game is effective if you have enough experience and relevant skills.

terryk

terryk

TheCanuckwithalltheluck
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
The proof is in the pudding,i say.:) Do what works.

Yanko57

Yanko57

Community Guide
Community Guide
Total posts
Awards
Chips