• Start date
M

monsieur penous

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi,

I am a beginner/intermediate player in university and my ultimate passion is to become a pro poker player. I do not have enough bankroll to continuously lose in tournaments or low stakes, so I figured I turn to pure studying until I feel competent. I feel books from the public library would be my best bet, What would be the best books to start off reading? Also any other tips, advice etc. would be appreciated.

Thanks

Threshold2122

Threshold2122

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I guess it would depend on your style of play

Are you aggressive? Tight? Do you trap? Do you bully?

After you know what type of player you are then you can find the books that are most suited to getting the best out of your style of play

Good luck out there

C

crazycitizen

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I agree with Threshold2122.
Find a player who's style you like. Then find material from that player.
I started off reading Dan Harrington's books, and Doyle Brunson, as they play tight aggressive (how I wanted to play).
Nearly all the pro's have material out there. Study from the best :)

N

NPM

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi,

I am a beginner/intermediate player in university and my ultimate passion is to become a pro poker player. I do not have enough bankroll to continuously lose in tournaments or low stakes, so I figured I turn to pure studying until I feel competent. I feel books from the public library would be my best bet, What would be the best books to start off reading? Also any other tips, advice etc. would be appreciated.

Thanks

Am reading "No Limit Texas Hold'em: a Complete Course" by Angel Largay. It is interessting and fairly basic for an intermediate player. I suspect most libraries have a copy or can get one.

NPM

black and

black and

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
UA
Chips