PLO - Reading an opponent and psychological aspect of the game compared to NLHE?

Y

Youngmvo

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
CZ
Chips
Hey,

I have been taking poker seriously only for last 3 months. I have been studying and grinding everyday and so far grinded from NL2 to NL16, however lately I have been really thinking about switching to PLO, because the game looks really fun and I am only 19 years old, so I feel like it could be good to hop on something that is lets say "newer" and not so many people are experts in that as they are in holdem.

My only concern is that even though all poker variants are math driven, the main reason why I started playing this game is that Psychological aspect of it (What does he have, is he bluffing, reading other people etc..)

I know PLO is in general more math and equity driven and maybe little more complex than NLHE, but is it for exchange for being maybe less psychology, reading an opponent driven or is the psychology and exploitative aspect of poker as important in PLO as it is in NLHE?

Thank you!

C

crazycitizen

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hello :)

Firstly, congrats on your progress so far! That is impressive, in only 3 months.
It is true that PLO is far less "solved" than NLHE, and personally I do find it more fun - the pots are nearly always multi-way and most players will have a piece of it.

PLO will require you to do some maths, but with a reasonable grasp of the maths PLO is still very psychological.
I normally find my tables have a mix of calling stations, aggro players, recs and rocks - so you have to navigate through the pots in a psychological way (just like NLHE).

I agree PLO maths is a little more complex, but I would not say there is less or more psychology in PLO. I would say the psychology is different.
NLHE tends to be a lot of HU pots, you can overbet, you can shove pre-flop, ranges can be very polarised etc.