K

kapable71

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi everybody,

ok im quite new at the game and im wondering what it means when i read an article and it says "these hands are to weak to call with better to 3bet them" and if you cant call with them why would you 3bet them? if someone could give an explanation and maybe an example,:)
that would be much appreciated!!

thanks in advance

keith

Stevan

Stevan

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Well if i understand correctly it's telling you to bluff. If you call, you are rarely going to win the hand so it would be better to raise in order to represent something stronger.
Maybe you can show me the article.

MrHachiman

MrHachiman

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hi, welcome!
Because if you pay you will always be late to his range. Then you prefer to make 3bet of bluff or fold
This happens for example when you have A2-5s and you do 3bet many times you will fold hands like A9-AT-AJ. Hands that if you pay you will be completely destroyed. On the other hand, the fact that you have an Ace decreases the chances of him having it, that's why it's a good hand for bluff-raising

bc2017

bc2017

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think the others above have summed it up pretty well - if you call, you are likely behind them but if you 3bet, you will a percentage of the time pick up the pot right there and over time, this move would be more profitable. When you decide to play hands, it's better to be aggressive and try and take down the pot rather than be passive.

Mycetism

Mycetism

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Everyhand could win, sometimes you are better to make a 3big blind raise then simply call. Calling is ok but not the best. Aggression is a important key of poker

MemphisGrind

MemphisGrind

Think Bink
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hi everybody,