Is it possible to make good results in poker without studying GTO?

yogo9

yogo9

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
DZ
Chips
Most poker players throw around the term GTO without understanding what it means or how it applied, So is it possible for someone to be naturally talented enough at this game to make a good living without studying GTO for hundreds and thousands of hours?
In my opinion i wouldn't say impossible, but you put yourself at a massive disadvantage if you don't at least try to understand theory these days.

Newzooozooo

Newzooozooo

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
UA
Chips
I have been playing poker for about 7 years. I never used any additional statistical programs, never delved into special terms, and generally did not complicate anything for myself. But I probably always had other goals. I played just for fun and that was my main motivation. Despite this, I have pretty good results, and overall I get a regular income from the game. It's a small income, but it's still money :)

blueskies

blueskies

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I believe GTO assumes the other players are competent. Against bad players at the lowest levels you are better off making exploitive plays vs. them. If you play GTO vs. someone who doesn't really know what they are doing, you are just over complicating things and screwing yourself up.

sabir

sabir

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Optimal Game Theory”
It is an “optimal” game strategy against which the opponent has no way of playing in the hope of winning.

This does not mean that the EV of this strategy corresponds to the maximum EV because it is necessary to exploit the villain's weak points in order to obtain a maximum.

If we look for a known example of GTO in the world of Poker, we immediately think of Nash's Push or Fold charts which give us the optimal hand ranges to play in a given game situation.