How to play against a callstation player?

dragunovich

dragunovich

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
hi, im thinking about this stuff.. i remember to doyle brunson talking about that in supersistem, and saying that if u can beat a callstation u can beat any player.. so, i want to know some opinions of the pro players from here ¨cardschat¨

Asixx014

Asixx014

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm not a pro, but I've seen a lot of hands and done copious amounts of research. The consensus I've come to is that to beat callstations you have to have nuts or close to and be agressive, they'll call u down with high card or better and you'll lose most often with top pair against two pairs and hidden straights. I'll be honest and say im not sure what to do when they bet into you or reraise, but I'd probabaly fold. Generally callstations will have a weak range and wont often raise often preflop. If they do, again, I'd probably fold. Having a strong range preflop and playing hands with strong showdown value are your best friends! Calling stations will almost always give you odds to draw for nut flushes and straights so bet light when drawing, unless u hit nuts, then bet for value all day. Disputes and comments welcome! Thanks!

roger perkins

roger perkins

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
it is hard to put a calling station on a hand. you need to make him pay when you have strong hands. limit your bets when you are marginal because he will call them. most of the things you use to get someone to fold just wont work on a calling station. DONT TRY AND bluff HIM it just wont work.

xOneCoolHandx

xOneCoolHandx

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
hi, im thinking about this stuff.. i remember to doyle brunson talking about that in supersistem, and saying that if u can beat a callstation u can beat any player.. so, i want to know some opinions of the pro players from here ¨cardschat¨