rvnhss

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
NZ
Chips
Hi there

This is one of those marginal hands I’m not sure whether to play more often or not. They are part of the nut straight so they have some value. I’m leaning more towards playing in only on the button and fold it in any other position. And then always playing it when suited.

Two questions:
1. Generally speaking, do you have any specific rules in your range for J 10?
2. Does suited vs off-suited make a difference to you?

Eduard0Felipe

Eduard0Felipe

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
I still have a lot of limitation with range, but I'm studying more and more and trying to open as much as I can profitably, I believe that off would be very rare, but the same suit should compose the opening range of several positions.

D

DaMooca

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I have a personal thing with this hand, I can't say why... but it's one of my least favorite hands to play.
I usually play if I'm on the cut off or on the button and the table is folded and it will still depend on the players on my left, so I think I'll play with it. 😁
But I think I need to review this urgently, after all, poker is a risky game, and if we don't take risks, we can't progress in the game.

mushthebush

mushthebush

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
GB
Chips
I play them quite often actually, especially suited but sometimes unsuited to in position, that's, of course, at cash tables, rush tables etc. In tournaments, it depends where I'm standing but if I can see the flop cheap and maybe get a cheap turn or even river, I take them all the way. It's a good bluffing hand to, depending on what's out there. But it all depends on how confident you are in your abilities. Poker is not all about making hands all the time. Of course, j10 is a speculative hand, which can be advantageous in certain situations but if not played correctly, it's easy to read. At least, that's what I think. Dangerous.