How can one manage long duration of poker tournament

L

lovido

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
As a newbie, i always find it hard to make it to the finish line, once i'm in the money and i made little profit i always lose focus, lost first positions a lot cause of it. sometimes won't able finish in second position.

PHX

PHX

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
TT
Chips
Take small breaks in between walk around for 30 secs, stretch, talk to yourself i.e. pump yourself up to keep focused, drink something water or something sweet (tea coffee coke), play some upbeat music (Eye of the tiger by Survivor and Headstrong by Trapt are my favorite pump up songs).

Andrei Korolev

Andrei Korolev

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Be patient and keep playing your style.There is a temptation to play all the cards when you are in the first rows...

L

lovido

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Thanks guys, i will implement it.

grumblbrumbl

grumblbrumbl

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Before I too suffered something similar. As soon as I got into the prize zone, I relaxed, and eventually lost. Now I can't even get into the prize-winning places. So rejoice that you get in the money. :D

cranberry

cranberry

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You must be as focused and concentrated as possible. Here you need to be patient and wait for good pocket cards, and it will be right to play even more aggressively.

CadoARAJ

CadoARAJ

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You have to keep the focus, keep playing the way that take you to the ITM. If you entered in the money, you are in the right way, because only about 15% reach this spot.
If you are tired, throwing away your chips, take a little rest right after you fold when you are UTG, because, in the next hand at BB, you will be the last to play pré-floppy and this gives you a good time to breath and come back. Go to the kitchen and take a fast lunch or juice/water.