How do you figure out someone's hand range?

magnumite

magnumite

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
People talk about this all the time and I don't really understand how one should figure out someone's hand range if you are in a cash game w/ them or a tournament or sit and go. You only see what hand they actually have a small percent of the because they reach showdown, so other than that how are you supposed to figure out what hands they play? I feel like that's not enough info to give someone a range. I am guessing that I'm missing something here, as I'm pretty new to poker.

Lemme know!

Whaevoz

Whaevoz

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
If you were to ask Phil Hellmuth, he would say, "White magic!" :D

This Fish Chums

This Fish Chums

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Identifying someone's range

If you use a HUD this is a lot easier, but there is a way of identifying someone's range if you play with them long enough. First, think of your range of cards you play and how often you play a hand vs. raise a hand vs. fold a hand. You know how you play so that gives you a baseline to measure against. Then watch how often they perform those actions. If they play and raise more than you do then you know they play a wider range than you do. If the fold more often than you then you know they play tighter than you. This means you need to watch not only when you are in a hand against them, but also when they are in any hand with other players.

Then post flop use the same strategy to gauge how aggressive they are. If they raise more often than you than they are more aggressive than you. Less often and they are tighter or more passive than you.
Once you've identified how they play vs. how you play you have an idea of if they are TAG, LAG or whatever and can adjust your play accordingly.

MattRyder

MattRyder

🍏 Tech That Works!
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips