How do I stop losing to sets/trips!!

B

Bigfox23

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I keep losing to sets/trips when I have two pair and there’s no flush or straight on the board. It’s so hard to sniff out sets/trips. You can see flushes,straights,and full houses on the board, but sets/trips are sooooo freaking hidden. I’m always losing to them. Any pro tips? Or strategies? This is my first time at this site, I have no poker friends and I keep losing to sets/trips. anyone how you deal with that?

Last edited by a moderator:
wlad20082009

wlad20082009

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
RU
Chips
I keep losing to sets/trips when I have two pair and there’s no flush or straight on the board. It’s so hard to sniff out sets/trips. You can see flushes,straights,and full houses on the board, but sets/trips are sooooo freaking hidden. I’m always losing to them. Any pro tips? Or strategies? This is my first time at this site, I have no poker friends and I keep losing to sets/trips. anyone how you deal with that?
Hello there ! Welcome to the forum ! Good luck in the games ! :) https://www.cardschat.com/forum/learning-poker-57/cardschat-a-new-ebook-training-course-455641/ https://www.cardschat.com/forum/car...chat-freerolls-tournament-access-info-452874/

Joe

Joe

99.98% Kiln dried
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
GB
Chips
Hi and welcome to cardschat!

I'm going to move this from intros to somewhere you'll get more replies... :wink:

One way to stop losing to sets/trips would be to make straights/flushes... :p

You're right 'threat of the set' is dangerous and can be difficult to identify.

Often when you make a strong, but lesser, hand against set/trips (such as top two pair) it will be difficult to avoid losing a chunk of change.

I'm not sure personally I've got any particularly good suggestions for you here besides to retain a sense of caution when you make one of these strong hands, which are losing to three of a kind.