How to beat maniacs?

F

fernando21

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm new to poker (offline) and have started to play a small NLHE tournament that a local pub runs weekly. It's usually 2-3 tables with between 6-9 players at a table. First week I sat out a lot of hands early to get a feel for the players at the table and it became clear that these guys were willing to get chips in with anything...and I do mean anything! I ended up playing tight, opening with premium holdings and getting chips in when I hit flops. I ran hot and won the tournament first time there - happy days!

Last night we played again and I adopted the same strategy as the previous week, opening with premium hands when in position, folding everything else and building the pot when I hit flops. Except I didn't...couldn't hit a thing! I C-Bet/double-barrelled with over cards only to be raised out of the pot on the turn by people holding things like J3o. By playing super-tight, I ran through to 7th place with everyone knocking each other out along the way, but was short stacked and forced to shove QTo with blinds killing my stack.

So how should I be playing against a table full of aggressive players, in lots of multi-way pots in a tournament format with blind increases every 30-40mins when I'm not hitting anything on the flop or beyond? Should I be looking to get more in pre-flop? I've been raising 3xBB pre-flop and occassionally a bit more if there are limpers (and there are always limpers!).

Any help would be greatly appreciated..

NHequalsFU

NHequalsFU

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Raise your strong starting hands more pre-flop to thin the herd and when you hit flop make them pay more.

Don't get into a bad habit of calling more to try and hit just play your game and don't try to steal from maniacs.

Take them to value town when you have the best of it.

F

faf

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips