black1diamond7

black1diamond7

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
hi guys
i have been wondering if 3bet/fold from HJ/CO/SB is better or flatting from those positions
what are the advantages and disadvantages of each
cheers

akmost

akmost

Rising Star
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
GR
Chips
Under no circumstances I am an expert, what I have read is that we can flat more frequently the suited broadways instead of 3bet them because they flop well. If you want to 3bet / fold some of those broadways better choose the off suited because by folding you won't throw away much equity.

Generally this is a huge topic of discussion and GTO wise I don't know what is the optimal. For example some suited AXs , KXs , QXs , something like K6s are also good hands for 3bet / folds because we have blockers in our hand. Other than that against super aggressive open raisers we can widen our range and for board coverage we can start 3bet some 45s , 8Ts etc. Unfortunately I don't have access to charts for balance plays.

Hope I helped a little bit and maybe some more experienced players write their strategy!

Last edited by a moderator:
Phoenix Wright

Phoenix Wright

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
hi guys
i have been wondering if 3bet/fold from HJ/CO/SB is better or flatting from those positions
what are the advantages and disadvantages of each
cheers

Naturally, it would depends on the hand. Purely going by position, I feel that HJ and CO would play similarly as they are in position, but SB would be the "odd one out" because post-Flop they would be first to act (typically a disadvantage due to lack on information on what the opponent does).