Hand Reading / Villain 3-bet Cont. Ranges

T

TheCourtesyFlush

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm just starting out with learning hand reading, and I've been working on James Sweeney's CORE program and I've got a question. When deciding whether to 3-bet someone, say they have vpip: 20 / pfr: 16 / fold to 3-bet: 60 / 4-bet: 3.

So they raised, which gives them roughly a 16% range, now to know whether I should 3-bet for value, I need to know the range they would call my 3-bet with so I can make sure I'm ahead of it. Would I just take the opposite of their fold to 3-bet (so 40%) in this case, then take the top 40% of their pfr range combos to give me their continuing range? Then use their 4-bet% to determine the percentage of combos they'd 4-bet with?

Am I understanding this right? If so, I'll be practicing it a lot off the table before I try to do it in a real game. I know there are other things to consider when 3-betting, but I'm specifically concerned with creating a continuing range. I also know I'll need a good sample size, at least 500 hands before fold to 3-bet is accurate, probably more like 1000 hands for 4-bet numbers.

Thanks for any help/advice.

PaxMundi

PaxMundi

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You can use combonator to work on ranges.
https://combonator.com/

plug in a 20% range pre which is roughly
22+,A2s+,K9s+,Q9s+,J9s+,T9s,ATo+,KTo+,QTo+,JTo

then go to postflop and find a 40% continue range accounting for some 4bet bluffs.

4bet bluffs
A5s-A2s

flatting range
99+,AJs+,KJs+,QJs,AQo+,KQo

Given standard preflop bet sizes the minimum defense frequency is around 28% calls 72% folds vs a 3bet.So i always think it's helpful to know those ranges to work from as'well assigning a standard Tag preflop rfi range.

PaxMundi

PaxMundi

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips