Hand ranges

shim36

shim36

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think I assume hand range based on position and opponent's raises and 3bets, but it doesn't work.

Am I thinking about it wrong?

I'd like to know if you have any tips.
(I'm still a beginner)

DrazaFFT

DrazaFFT

public static void
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
In order to know the opponent ranges better, you need to know your ranges from every position, open, call, 3bet, c3b. Also, you should know what type of player your ranges represent, TAG, LAG, and others. Knowing that you should know your percentages from every position if you're using HUD, and relate that with the ranges you're using, then you adjust your ranges and percentages to opponents and this is how you start...

A good way to practice that is with the hand replayer, but you should remember that there is always a possibility that you'll miss the exact range you're putting someone on, so it takes practice...

300HPGOD

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
First thing you have to do is not put your personal range as the range of the villain. Villains will not play as you do for better or worse. First you need to categorize players as loose or tight through either their stats or through empirical evidence. Once you have the tendencies of the player then you can have broad hand ranges to start the hand and then narrow them down with every action in the hand.